Aside

My Hope Is In You!

My Hope Is In You  – My Daily Bread!

The joy of our Lord is found in His Word in the book Of Genesis 40: 23, NIV which reads:

“The chief cupbearer, however, did not remember Joseph; he forgot him.”

Joseph’s story found in Genesis chapters 37-50 is a story of triumph and persevering under dire circumstances.  It is a story of learning to trust in the Lord despite what life brings your way.  It is an excellent story of how to navigate life’s ups and downs and still stay focused on God.

The passage above is recorded in the Word after Joseph had successfully interpreted the dreams of the king’s chief cupbearer and chief baker whom he met while falsely imprisoned for something he did not do.   You see Joseph rose to a position of prominence in his master’s house (an official in Pharaoh’s) in Egypt after being sold into slavery by his brothers only to be thrown into prison when his master’s wife accused him of assaulting her.

Joseph had one request of the cupbearer who was restored back to his position of favor before the King:  “when all goes well with you remember me and show me kindness; mention me to Pharaoh and get me out of this prison.”  (Genesis 40: 14, NIV)  But as we know as soon as the cupbearer went back to his position of favor, he did not consider what Joseph had done for him.  I found myself pondering whether Joseph who openly acknowledged God as the source of his gift (Genesis 40: 8, NIV);put his confidence in the ability of the cupbearer to get him freed from prison because of the cupbearer’s connection to the king.

Did Joseph in an act of desperation fail to realize that it was his connection to God that was the source of his deliverance?  Did he not clearly see that God’s hand was upon him and that it was clear to others that God was intervening on his behalf, even in his daily affairs?  We are told:  “The Lord was with Joseph and he prospered and lived in the house of his Egyptian master.  When his master saw that the Lord was with him and that the Lord gave him success in everything he did, Joseph found favor in his eyes and became his attendant.”   (Genesis 39: 2-3, NIV)

Did Joseph not see that God had indeed remembered Him and prospered him in his way despite his ups and downs.  Great things happened as a result of this – others recognized who the God of heaven was because of his favor on Joseph.  They were able to see God in action and it impacted the life of not only Joseph, but also those who he came into contact with.  Sometimes Saints, when we are in the midst of ups and downs; look for how God has remembered you and favored you!  And know that although God may use others to accomplish His will, HE is the source of all our goodness and our very great reward!

Prayer: “Show me your ways, O Lord, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.  Remember, O Lord, your great mercy and love, for they are from of old.  Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you are good, O Lord.”  (Psalm 25: 4-7, NIV)  Yes Lord, remember even me.

      Copyright© 2011-2017 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved.:-

Leave encouragements with your reply: