Aside

Our Precious Lord!

Our Precious Lord – My Daily Bread!

The meditation of our hearts today is taken from Job 23: 12b, NIV, it reads:

“I have treasured the Words of your mouth more than my daily bread”.   

This incredible passage was spoken by Job, a servant of God after he had suffered great personal tragedy with the loss of his children, all his earthly possessions, and his health (see Book of Job).   Job was in such despair that his close friends and his wife suggested he curse God and die.  But yet, he clung to the Living Precious Lord even more!

What an awesome expression to be able to say in the midst of trials!  This passage speaks of having a deep personal relationship with God, of trusting in Him no matter what the circumstances, of a life committed to seeking and knowing God, of deep personal faith born of experiencing God’s faithfulness!  Does your faith enable you to cling to God and His promises no matter what?

In the face of adversity, what is your response to God?  Could you treasure God even more or would you turn away from God, thinking He has forgotten you?  The choices we make of how we respond in times of crisis reveal what we truly believe about God in our hearts.  The choices we make daily on how to live reveals where our hearts are for God.   Jesus said: “For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks”.  (Luke 6:45b, NIV)

For every crisis, know that God has allowed it and already knows the good it will bring.  Yes Sisters, even in the death of a loved one, the loss of a job, a divorce; even in these things God is growing us for Him.  There is an opportunity if we can get pass the anger and the pain; a chance to increase our faith, to trust Him more and see Him revealed in a way we have never experienced before.

The other reality that is generally hard for us to accept is not knowing WHY a particular something is happening.   We ask why Me?  And God asks why not, are you not mine?  Isaiah 55:8-9, NIV, tells us “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.  As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

From this passage it is clear that we cannot figure God out, we do not know all that He is thinking and planning for us every moment.  He will reveal what you need in the proper time; so do not spend forever wondering why, use that time to treasure Him in His Word, for in it we find His unmerited favor –  a grace that suits every occasion!

Following are some of the blessings that come from treasuring God‘s Word in our hearts daily:

God will be our guide; we don’t have to go it alone!  “Your Word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.”  (Psalm 119: 105, NIV)

We have God’s peace: “Great peace have they who love your law, and nothing can make them stumble.” (Psalm 119:165, NIV)

God is our protection: He will guard our hearts even in the face of trials: “You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in your Word.” (Psalm 119:114, NIV)

God’s Word will become our true treasure: “The law from your mouth is more precious to me than thousands of pieces of silver and gold.” (Psalm 119:72, NIV)

Prayer: Lord, help me to seek you and your truths daily in your Word, to treasure the words of your mouth more than my daily bread that I might know thee;  show me how to esteem you higher than thousands of pieces of silver and gold; change my heart, that I might glorify your name.  Holy Spirit, pray for me.  Amen.

     Copyright© 2011-2013 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved. 

One response to “Our Precious Lord!

  1. Pingback: Let go and Let God by Trudy Ross | Prayer Works Cafe

Leave encouragements with your reply: