Aside

Offer to God Thanksgivings and Pay Your Vows!

Offer to God Thanksgivings and Pay Your Vows – My Daily Bread!

Our call to thanksgiving before the Lord is taken from Psalm 50: 9-15, NIV, which says:

“I have no need of a bull from your stall or of goats from your pens, for every animal of the forest is mine, and the cattle on a thousand hills.  I know every bird in the mountains, and the creatures of the field are mine.  If I were hungry, I would not tell you; for the world is Mine, and all its fullness.  Will I eat the flesh of bulls, or drink the blood of goats?  Offer to God thanksgiving, and pay your vows to the Most High.  Call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you and you shall glorify Me.”

As much as we would like to think otherwise, the Lord does not need us, but we do need Him.   All the bounty of the earth belongs to Him and so do we!  As we continue to reflect on our thankfulness in this season of thanksgiving, this passage reminds us that the most important sacrifice of praise is to fulfill our vows to the Lord with wholehearted thanksgiving, for this is our true act of worship to God.  (Hebrews 13:15, NIV)  God is not impressed with empty ritual, so going to church every week out of habit can never in and of itself please God.   However, sometimes we can get the notion that we are doing God a favor by just showing up.

God desires heartfelt faith expressing itself through love and active obedience; for all that matters is that we glorify Him.  And His promise to us?  He will be with us and deliver us in our day of trouble.    What a reason to be thankful Saints!  Our deliver is but a call away, He is always near!   God tells us “those who honor me I will honor”.   (1 Samuel 2: 30, NIV)  So the only question is: will you honor your God by fulfilling your vows with thanksgiving?

Copyright© 2011-2013 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved.

Leave encouragements with your reply: