Aside

Captured by the Lord!

Captured by the Lord – My Daily Bread!

Our call to reflection is taken from the Book of Psalm 139:5-10, it reads:

“You hem me in – behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.  Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.  Where can I go from your spirit?  Where can I flee from your presence?  If I go up to the heavens you are there; if I make my bed in the depths. You are there.  If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me; your right hand will hold me fast”.

This wonderful Psalm of praise speaks to God’s omnipresence and the fact that He is in control of our lives!  The very thought that He hems us in, behind and before tells of his control over our lives in all of our circumstances.  Wherever we are He is there!  In our deepest and darkest moments He is in our midst and becomes our light to see our way through.  Said another way, God can keep us out of trouble if we yield to His Spirit!

We are reminded of God’s divine providence and His promise to guide us; that He has a plan for us which gives eternal life with a purpose if we chose to accept it.  He made us and knows what is best for us.  Jeremiah 29:11 tells of His providence when it says “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”.  The next few verses tell us what is required from God: “call upon me and come and pray to me; seek me with all your heart, I will be found by you and will bring you back from captivity”.   (vs. 12-13)   These words were spoken to the Nation of Judah that had been exiled in Babylon after they had turned from serving the Lord and gone after other Gods.  Even after their sin, God in His infinite mercy made a provision for them to return to Him.

Saints, God has called us out of captivity from this present age also, the real question before us all is: Will you live for him? Do you feel His hand upon your life, guiding you, protecting you, directing you in His will?  Have you begun to live the plan He has for you?  Like Israel He invites us back to Him to realize our true potential – to glorify and bring honor to His name!

Copyright© 2011-2013 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved.

Leave encouragements with your reply:

