Aside

God’s Joy, Deep Down in My Soul!

God’s Joy, Deep Down in My Soul – My Daily Bread!

David, the man the Bible describes as ‘a man after God’s own heart’ said many things about the Lord to inspire praise and adoration.  One of the most favorite is the following passage taken from Psalm 16: 8-11, NIV, which read:

“I have sat the Lord always before me.   Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.  Therefore my heart is glad, and my tongue rejoices; my body will also rest secure, because You will not abandon me to the grave, nor will you let your Holy One see decay.  You have made known to me the path of life; You will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at Your right hand. ”

Some scriptures can do nothing but lift our hearts to God in praise!  He is our confidence and blessed assurance, having secured our salvation through His Son, Christ Jesus.  David’s words speak to the joys and rewards of a life lived in deep personal relationship with God.  So when we enter into the presence of the Lord, it is truly the fullness of Joy!

This psalm is also referred to as a Messianic psalm because it is quoted in the New Testament as referring to the resurrection of Jesus Christ.  Both Peter and Paul quoted this psalm when referring to Jesus’ bodily resurrection from the dead.  These referenced can be found in Acts 2:25-28; 31 and 13: 35-27, NIV.

Saints, “may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace” (Romans 15:13, NIV) in believing   “that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  (Romans 8:38-39, NIV)  What unspeakable Joy!

 Copyright© 2011-2012 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved.

Leave encouragements with your reply:

