Aside

Ode to Waiting on the Lord!

Ode to Waiting on the Lord – My Daily Bread!

Today’s reflection is a poem the Lord comforted my heart with and is offered here as encouragement for anyone who is waiting on God for something right now.  A dear friend of mine’s stopped by while I as in the midst of a hectic day and her words brought back to mind this poem on waiting on God that I had posted a few months ago.   The scriptural context is taken from one of my favorite passages – Psalm 27:13-14 which tell us:

“I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.  Wait on the Lord; be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; wait, I say, on the LORD!” 

Ode to Waiting on the Lord!

I tell myself I will wait on my God and not tire out;

But in the still of the night my restless heart begins to doubt.

It sounds like a hammer, so loud in my chest;

I cannot sleep and certainly my mind cannot rest.

I say ‘what is it Lord’, for I know you are holding me still;

Have I not pleased you with my sacrifices, am I not in your will?

I have laid my prayers before you with many tears and great pain,

But I will not give into Satan who tries to convince me it is all in vain.

Then I thought of the years that Paul waited to be united with Christ;

Of the beatings, and prison and oh, so much strife.

I thought of Abraham waiting for the seed that had been promised;

As he wandered as a stranger for God was faithful and honest.

Then I knew I would trust you to act in your own time and own way;

For my life, my Dear Jesus already did pay.

For you are my shield and my very great reward;

The King of Kings and my Lord of Lords!

For your goodness abounds all around me, in your presence is fullness of joy;

At your right hand are pleasures forevermore!

So I began to slip into sleep, confident as the night stretched into the dawn;

Thanking you Father for the strength and courage to wait, to hang on!

Copyright© 2011-2012 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved.

2 responses to “Ode to Waiting on the Lord!

  1. Beautiful words….so needed to hear these words today. Thank you and Blessings,

  2. Pingback: Can You Wait? « Cindy Holman's Blog

Leave encouragements with your reply:

