Aside

His Excellent Praise!

His Excellent Praise – My Daily Bread!

The call to worship our God in Spirit and truth is taken from Isaiah 43: 21 which says:

“This people I have formed for Myself; they shall declare My praise”

This simple passage sums up the whole purpose of man.  Now this is contrary to popular beliefs that we are created to fulfill our own destinies, to “Do You” as I have heard it described in the ‘squawk’ of the ‘Y’ generation.

Makai's Picture of Praising God, Age 8

I asked myself, have they not heard that God has a marvelous plan for their lives?  A Wonderful purpose?   Then I had to remind myself that their view is not all that different from the view held back in the 70’s when I was a teen, after all wasn’t there a song that said  ”It’s your thing, do what you want to do” made popular by the Isley Brothers?    So I had to ask myself, what were we thinking?  Did we not know that God had a plan and a marvelous purpose, yes even in the 70’S?

God gives each generation and age the ability to grow and define itself and posses what I call ‘unique specialties’ or identifiers that define it from the past generations or times. For instance Steve Jobs (Baby Boomers generation) will be forever connected with developing groundbreaking products that revolutionized consumer technology such as the Macintosh computer, iPod, iPhone, and iPad.  Incidentally, it will be interesting to see how these tools further the spread of the gospel message worldwide!

However, I t was never God’s plan that any age would grow away from the purpose He had created them for – namely to praise Him and glorify His name.   The Psalmist expressed it best when he said:  “I will extol You, my God, O King; and I will bless Your name forever and ever.  Every day I will bless You, and I will praise your name forever and ever.  Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised”.  (Psalm 145: 1-3)  “I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth”.  (Psalm 34: 1)

So to all those who call on the name of the Lord let us give our God His excellent praise!  Let us commit ourselves to live lives that bring honor and glory to His name; for we are the redeemed of the Most High God, who have been brought out of darkness into His marvelous light!  Sing His excellent Praise for He is Worthy!  He is Worthy!  He is Worthy!  Hallelujah Amen!

Copyright© 2011 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved.

Leave encouragements with your reply:

