Aside

The Meditations of My Heart!

The Meditations of My Heart – My Daily Bread!

Our courage to love God is taken from Psalm 19: 14 which read: “May the words of my mouth and the mediations of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer”.  Some words in the scriptures touch the very soul of our inner beings and point us to our call before God – to be acceptable to Him.  Do you speak each word as if God is listening?  Do you think of the expressions of your heart as sacrifices on the altar before the Lord?  Who are you looking to please when you take your gifts to the Lord’s altar, God or men?   The right answer to these questions can be very costly in the life of the Christian.

Let’s examine New Testament scripture regarding Ananias and Sapphira, a couple in the early church who thought some things and said some things that were not pleasing to God and it cost them their life.  Their story is told in Acts 5: 1-10.  At that time new believers were doing an extraordinary thing.   Here’s what was going on: “All the believers were one in heart and mind.  No one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they shared everything they had.   There was no needy person’s among them.  For from time to time those who owned land or houses sold them, brought the money from the sales and put it the apostles feet, and it was distributed to anyone as he had need.”  (Acts 4:32-35)

No doubt Ananias and Sapphira saw this and thought that it would be real cool to be one of the ones who gave a self-sacrificing gift to the early Church.  Others would see it and my oh my what praise they would receive.  So they agreed to sell a piece of their property and keep back part of the money for themselves, but tell the apostles that they had given it all.   Now there was nothing wrong for them to sell the property and give only a portion of it to the Lord.  But trying to make other believe they had given more than they had received was a deliberate attempt to deceive God and others about their relationship with God; to appear more righteous than they were.

Immediately, the Holy Spirit revealed this to Peter who said to him “how is it that Satan has so filled your heart that you have lied to the Holy Spirit and have kept for yourself some of the money you received for the land?  Didn’t it belong to you before it was sold?  And after it was sold, wasn’t the money at your disposal?  What made you think of doing such a thing?  You have not lied to men but to God.   When Ananias heard this, he fell down and died.” (Acts 5:3-4)  To his wife Peter asked “How could you agree to test the Spirit of the Lord.” (Acts 5:7-10)  She also died on the spot.

Ananias and Sapphira motives were for the glory of men instead of for the glory of the Lord.  Their words and the meditations of their hearts resulted in actions that did not seek to honor God first.  There is something in our human spirit which longs to say and do things that make us look good on the outside to others.  To have others think highly of us and what we do and what we posses.  Our thoughts and our words are a window to what is in our hearts and what we long for.

Take a moment to examine what your words and the meditations of your heart reveal about who you are trying to please.  Is pleasing God first in your life?   The Apostle Paul encouraged us when he said “whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” (2 Corinthians 10:31)

Prayer: Lord give me the courage to speak each word as if you are listening; to think every thought as if it is being laid at your feet in heaven; so that the words of my mouth and the mediations of my heart will manifest deeds that will be pleasing to you, my Rock and Redeemer!

Copyright© 2011 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved.

One response to “The Meditations of My Heart!

  1. This message made think about comments I make, do I always glorify God with my commentsn, no not always. Many times I ask forgiveness after it is all said and done. How ever I am also reminded that the Holy Spirit convict me and I continue to ask forgiveness. I will be perfect when I get to heaven but in the mean time the Lord is working on me. Thank you Holy Spirit

Leave encouragements with your reply:

