Aside

Moving in the Spirit of God!

Moving in the Spirit of God – My Daily Bread!

Our call to worship and praise before the Lord is found in Numbers 9: 7-18, NIV, which reads:

“Whenever the cloud lifted from above the Tent, the Israelites set out; whenever the cloud settled, the Israelites encamped.  At the Lord’s command the Israelites set out, and at His command they encamped.”

What a Word!  God moving among His people, leading, guiding and directing their every move!  The cloud represented God’s presence over the Tent of Meeting.  How wonderful to know that it has always been God’s plan to live in the very midst of His redeemed.  We do not have to go it alone.  The cloud in this case was clearly visible for all to see.  Today we have the same assurances of God’s presence in our lives!  Today we each have the indwelt Holy Spirit of the Living One within us!  It goes everywhere we go and just like the cloud, it tells us when to move and when to be still, the Spirit keeps us pacing in the will of God.

The Word is full of instances where the Spirit of the Matchless One actively did the leading in the lives of His Saints.  Speaking to His servant Zerubbabel, God told him: “not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit” will the temple be rebuilt.  (Zechariah 4: 6, NIV)   Speaking of King Saul: “When they arrived at Gibeah, a procession of prophets met him, the Spirit of God came upon him in power, and he joined in their prophesying.”  (I Samuel 10: 10, NIV)  Our Savior Jesus was led by God’s Spirit while He was here on earth, for we are told: “then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the desert”.  (Matthew 4: 1, NIV)

What is so awesome, is that with the Spirit in each of these instances, those impacted were able to do something extraordinary for God!  Our Savior remained in the desert for 40 days and nights without food, Zerubbable re-built the temple in the midst of his enemies, and Saul prophesied. And here is our blessing and our comfort in Christ:  “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing.  He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.”  (John 14: 12, NIV)

David, the man after God’s own heart gave us words of encouragement when he said “Since you are my rock and my fortress, for the sake of your name lead and guide me.  Free me from the trap that is set for me, for you are my refuge.  Into your hands I commit my spirit; redeem me, O Lord, the God of truth.”  (Psalm 31: 3-5, NIV)  Saints we must yield to the Spirit in order for us to move and live in the Spirit.  Just like two people cannot pilot a plane, so too in our lives, we cannot drive and have God as the Lord of our lives.   Our God’s grace is complete in us when we let His Holy Spirit fill the place in our hearts reserved for Him.

Prayer: Holy Spirit come fill my heart!  Reside in this place that I might live for you, hear from you, and do your will.  Breath of God stir my love for your righteousness, that I might do the greater things of Christ that you have planned for me.  Daily lead, guide and direct me that your temple might be rebuilt in me; that I might declare your truths, that someone might believe.

Copyright© 2011 – 2012 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved.

One response to “Moving in the Spirit of God!

  1. Pingback: 120819–George Hach’s Inner Discipline’s Journal–Sunday |

Leave encouragements with your reply:

