Aside

Thy Word Hidden in My Heart!

Thy Word Hidden in My Heart – My Daily Bread!

Our reflection today is taken from the book of Psalm 119:  11-12, NIV, which reads

“I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.  Praise be to you, O Lord; teach me your decrees.”  

This passage speaks of the beauty and power of God’s Holy Word.  It is the Christian’s standard, the ultimate instruction guide to how to live the victorious Christian life.  It is the map of life for the heart surrendered to God, and should be used daily as we journey toward his eternal kingdom.  God reveals himself to us in His Word; we can come face to face with His splendor and majesty if we seek Him there.  God teaches us through His Word and His Word hidden in our hearts can guard us against sin!

How precious we must be to our God that He provided us the ‘Way’ in His Word!   Do you seek Him in His Word daily Saints?  Is He the treasure of your heart?  Is his Word ‘more precious than thousands of pieces of silver and gold’?  (Psalm 119:72, NIV) Is it a ‘lamp to your feet and a light for your path’? (Psalm 119:105, NIV)  Do you ‘treasure the words of His mouth more than your daily bread?’ (Job 23:12, NIV)  These are just some of the beautiful imagery used by the Psalmist and Job to described God’s Holy Word.

Oftentimes we may feel inadequate to read the Word of God, frustrated when we don’t understand; and maybe even give up all together.  If that is you Saint, ask God to “Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law.” (Psalm 119:18, NIV) For “Blessed are they whose way are blameless, who walk according to the law of the Lord.  Blessed are they who keep his statues and seek him with all their heart.” (Psalm 119:1-2, NIV)

Prayer: Lord, give me the courage I need to meet you in your Word daily, to set my heart aside for you out of my busy schedule.  Open my eyes that I might see You and come to know Your precepts and of Your unfailing love for me.   Guard my heart that will carry your truths that I might live for you and not shame my Lord who emptied Himself for me on Calvary.

Copyright© 2011-2012 Colleen Holton All Rights Reserved.

3 responses to “Thy Word Hidden in My Heart!

  1. Pingback: I will sing to the Lord, for He has been good to me « bummyla

  2. Pingback: I am Not Job! | ReeknittingwordswithGod

  3. oh my GOD, Thy Word Hidden in My heart. thank you. Psamsofpraisewomensministries

Leave encouragements with your reply:

